Creating filtered version of banner image.


Larnell Lewis - In the Moment


Alexis Baro, William Sperandei, Neil Brathwaite, Rob Christian, Courtenay Frazer, Samuel Williams, Joel Chambers, Shaun Martin, Eddie Bullen, Robi Botos, Michael Shand, Dionne Wilson, Rich Brown, Mike Downes, Andrew Stewart, Mark Lettieri, Elmer Ferrer, Marito Marques, Joaquin Nunez Hidalgo, Larnell Lewis

Subscribe to Mike's mailing list

Latest news

The Juno Awards took place in Vancouver in late March, 2018. It was a thrill to have Root Structure recognized as Jazz Album of the Year:Solo. It features Robi Botos - keyboards, Ted Quinlan - guitars, Larnell Lewis - drums and me on bass. It was beautifully recorded by engineer Steve Bellamy.



Ripple Effect, winner of the Traditional Jazz Album of the Year Juno Award in 2014, is available on itunes and at!

Mike Downes - bass, Robo Botos - piano, Ethan Ardelli - drums and special guest Ted Quinlan - guitar.

Follow Mike